YEAR IN REVIEW: All of Lifestyle Asia’s Covers in 2018 (Print and Digital)

  • December 28, 2018

First and foremost, we over at Lifestyle Asia would like to greet everybody a Happy New Year! We hope that your year was as productive and fruitful as ours. On to better things for the upcoming year! As part of our Year in Review celebration, we look back at our 2018 covers and the personalities who graced them. This year marked a special year for us, as we also launched our Digital Covers. Instead of our usual 11 covers a year, we produced a total of 14 for 2018. Below the short write-ups are links to previously published stories about that particular cover story in case you’re interested in further reading. All Digital Cover stories are linked to the original cover story so you can read the entire thing. Scroll down to see all of Lifestyle Asia’s 2018 covers… 

LIFESTYLE ASIA FEBRUARY 2018 - Alex de Leon (Photograph by Yukie Sarto)
LIFESTYLE ASIA FEBRUARY 2018 – Alex de Leon (Photograph by Yukie Sarto)

FEBRUARY (The Travel Issue)
Alex De Leon

After our December 2017-January 2018 annual double issue (featuring Angie and Joey Mead-King), we put Alex De Leon on our first cover of the year. The young and dynamic gentleman works as Facebook’s Regional Product Marketing Manager for Southeast Asia, often finding himself jet setting to different countries for his work. In a different take on a Travel Issue, we caught the Singapore-based Filipino back home and took him on a road trip through Luzon’s north provinces. On the road, Alex talked about traveling for work and leisure, his best experiences (such as running with the bulls in Spain!), and shared his most handy tips for adventures abroad.

RELATED READS: 5 Travel Tips from Lifestyle Asia Cover Boy Alex De Leon, A Citizen of the World

LIFESTYLE ASIA MARCH 2018 - Maggie Wilson Consunji (Photograph by Yukie Sarto)
LIFESTYLE ASIA MARCH 2018 – Maggie Wilson Consunji (Photograph by Yukie Sarto)

MARCH (The Home & Design Issue)
Maggie Wilson-Consunji

Maggie Wilson-Consunji invited us into her home for our annual Home & Design Issue. The young mom toured us around her modern house, which features a wall covered in Hermès scarves, an extremely large walk-in closet, Instagram-ready hallways, and a poolside space built for entertaining family and friends. Maggie also told us how the she juggles being a mother and wife, all while working as a host for a new beach themed show.

RELATED READS: A Sneak Peek Into the Home of Lifestyle Asia March Cover Girl Maggie Wilson-Consunji

LIFESTYLE ASIA APRIL 2018 - Maureen Disini, Paloma Urquijo Zobel, Jessica Kienle Maxwell and Olivia d'Aboville (Photograph by Cyrus Panginiban)
LIFESTYLE ASIA APRIL 2018 – Maureen Disini, Paloma Urquijo Zobel, Jessica Kienle Maxwell and Olivia d’Aboville (Photograph by Cyrus Panginiban)

APRIL (The Best of the Philippines Issue)
Paloma Urquijo Zobel, Jessica Kienle Maxwell, Olivia d’Aboville & Maureen Disini

To celebrate local artistry in our Best of the Philippines Issue, we invited four Filipino artists and designers to be a part of our April 2018 cover. Paloma Urquijo Zobel spoke about her passion project, clothing brand Pio Pio. Jessica Kienle Maxwell gave us a sneak peek into her life, running local furniture brand Philux with her sister Stephanie. Olivia d’Aboville spoke to us about her artistic process on how she creates such memorable installations. Last but not least, premier designer Maureen Disini shared her journey in fashion and climb up the ladder of success.

RELATED READS: Sneak Peek: Lifestyle Asia’s April 2018 Issue Celebrates the Best of the Philippines

LIFESTYLE ASIA MAY 2018 - Nico Bolzico and Solenn Heussaff (Photograph by Shaira Luna)
LIFESTYLE ASIA MAY 2018 – Nico Bolzico and Solenn Heussaff (Photograph by Shaira Luna)

MAY (The Beauty, Health & Wellness Issue)
Nico Bolzico & Solenn Heussaff

Husband and wife tandem Nico Bolzico and Solenn Heussaff spent the day riding horses, rolling in the hay, and soaking up the sun for Lifestyle Asia’s May 2018 Issue. During the interview process, the couple showed us a different side of their personalities, beyond what we knew under the camera lights and popular social media posts. They spoke about their private life, their future plans as parents, and moving into a bigger home.

RELATED READS: The Proposal of Nico Bolzico to Solenn Heusaff (Or How #BulliedHusbandClub and #Wifezilla Got Together)

LIFESTYLE ASIA JUNE 2018 - Laura Lehmann, Xandra Rocha Araneta & Lauren Liechtenstein (Photograph by Yukie Sarto)
LIFESTYLE ASIA JUNE 2018 – Laura Lehmann, Xandra Rocha Araneta & Lauren Liechtenstein (Photograph by Yukie Sarto)

JUNE (The Luxury Issue)
Laura Lehmann, Xandra Rocha Araneta & Lauren Liechtenstein

For our 31st anniversary issue, it was important for us to gather personalities who were living true lives of luxury—and we don’t just mean that in a material way. Laura Lehmann, Xandra Rocha Araneta and Lauren Liechtenstein are all living their lives to the fullest, and giving back to their communities in the best way they can. Former beauty queen Laura Lehmann has made it her mission to support mothers and malnourished babies by helping to build a hospital that provides fresh milk. Xandra Rocha Araneta, a former host, is now a mother of two, and is focused in raising her children as gentleman. Lastly, Lauren Liechtenstein, a doctor and patron of the arts, is part of an organization called Toe Shoes, which raises funds for ballet and local artists. 

RELATED READS: Laura Lehmann, Xandra Rocha Araneta and Lauren Liechtenstein Live True Lives of Luxury

LIFESTYLE ASIA JULY 2018 - Kaia Gerber (Photograph courtesy of OMEGA)
LIFESTYLE ASIA JULY 2018 – Kaia Gerber (Photograph courtesy of OMEGA)

JULY (The Millennials Issue)
Kaia Gerber

Lifestyle Asia flew to Germany to shoot supermodel and influencer Kaia Gerber for the Millennials Issue. Kaia, who is the daughter of Cindy Crawford, is a trailblazer on her own. At only 16 years old, she has been asked to be the face of numerous premium companies, including OMEGA (she wears a piece from their Trésor collection on the cover). This issue is also one of our most anticipated of the year, because it features our annual list of 30 Lifestyle Asia Game Changers.

RELATED READS: Lifestyle Asia Game Changers 2018: Meet the 30 Millennials Making a Difference in the World

LIFESTYLE ASIA AUGUST 2018 - Lea and Gerard Salonga (Photograph by Sara Black)
LIFESTYLE ASIA AUGUST 2018 – Lea and Gerard Salonga (Photograph by Sara Black)

AUGUST (The Generations Issue)
Lea & Gerard Salonga

Filipino music superstars Lea and Gerard Salonga graced our cover for August. Because it was our Generations Issue, the siblings recalled their youth and growing up famous in their respective fields. Lea may be a Broadway legend and iconic showbiz personality, and Gerard one of the most highly regarded Filipino conductors of his time, but to each other, they are just brother and sister.

RELATED READS: Lea and Gerard Salonga on Being Famous, Sibling Rivalry, and a Life Filled with Music

LIFESTYLE ASIA SEPTEMBER 2018 - Annika Prieto-Valdes & Juliana Gomez (Photograph by Yukie Sarto)
LIFESTYLE ASIA SEPTEMBER 2018 – Annika Prieto-Valdes & Juliana Gomez (Photograph by Yukie Sarto)

SEPTEMBER (The Red Charity Gala Issue)
Annika Prieto-Valdes & Juliana Gomez  

In preparation for Rajo Laurel’s huge anniversary show at The Red Charity Gala, we invited two of his millennial muses, Annika Prieto-Valdes and Juliana Gomez, to appear on our cover wearing his designs. Annika’s mother, Tessa, is one of the founders of the popular society gala. Based in California for college, she spoke to us about coming into her own and pursuing her love for film. On the other hand, Juliana talked about growing up with famous parents, and detailed the public’s common misconceptions about her.

RELATED READS: Juliana Gomez & Annika Prieto Valdes Talk About Growing Up in the Public Eye

LIFESTYLE ASIA OCTOBER 2018 - Lawrence Ho (Photograph courtesy of City of Dreams Manila)
LIFESTYLE ASIA OCTOBER 2018 – Lawrence Ho (Photograph courtesy of City of Dreams Manila)

OCTOBER (The Power Issue)
Lawrence Ho

For the October Power Issue, we looked at the life of young casino tycoon Lawrence Ho. Described as someone “who always leads and never follows,” Ho took over Melco (the gaming and casino resort company operating throughout Asia) before he was 30 years old, reversed the company’s downward trend in Asia and redirected the focus that made the Philippine casino stock the best performing in the world.

RELATED READS: Leading, Never Following: The Story of Lawrence Ho, Melco’s Young and Dynamic Chairman and CEO

LIFESTYLE ASIA DIGITAL OCTOBER 2018 - Kiana Valenciano & KC Del Rosario (Photograph by Yukie Sarto)
LIFESTYLE ASIA DIGITAL OCTOBER 2018 – Kiana Valenciano & KC Del Rosario (Photograph by Yukie Sarto)

OCTOBER (Digital Cover #1)
Kiana Valenciano & KC Del Rosario

We launched our very first Digital Cover on the 15th of October. In line with the Power Issue theme of the month, we decided to explore a different side of power— “The Power of the Post”. Digital savvy It-Girls Kiana Valenciano and KC Del Rosario were photographed in one of Solaire’s sprawling suites and spoke to us about their status as social media influencers.

RELATED READS: The Power of the Post: Kiana Valenciano and KC Del Rosario are your Digital Savvy It-Girls

LIFESTYLE ASIA NOVEMBER 2018 - Mon Gutierrez & Liz Uy (Photograph by Charisma Lico)
LIFESTYLE ASIA NOVEMBER 2018 – Mon Gutierrez & Liz Uy (Photograph by Charisma Lico)

NOVEMBER (The Luxury Gift Guide Issue)
Mond Gutierrez & Liz Uy

In a partnership with mobile phone company Huawei, media personalities Mond Gutierrez and Liz Uy graced the cover of our very first Luxury Gift Guide Issue. Young photographer Charisma Lico came onboard (literally—since we shot the cover story on a yacht at Manila Bay during the Golden Hour) and captured the two using the innovative Huawei Mate 20 model. Young and dynamic, Mond and Liz spoke to us about their climb up the ladder of success and their future plans to stay on top.

RELATED READS: Capturing True Trailblazers: Behind the Scenes with Mond Gutierrez and Liz Uy

LIFESTYLE ASIA DIGITAL NOVEMBER 2018 - Rosenthal Tee (Photograph by Yukie Sarto)
LIFESTYLE ASIA DIGITAL NOVEMBER 2018 – Rosenthal Tee (Photograph by Yukie Sarto)

NOVEMBER (Digital Cover #2)
Rosenthal Tee

In our second Digital Cover of the year, in-demand fashion designer Rosenthal Tee was photographed in pieces from her newest collection, Holiday 2018, which premiered on the runway of MEGA during their annual fashion week. Tee detailed her career with us in an extensive interview. Although one of the country’s most sought after young designers, she admitted that she was once a wallflower during her early years. Fashion as a career never even crossed her mind.

RELATED READS: The (Fashionably) Late Coming of Rosenthal Tee

LIFESTYLE ASIA DECEMBER 2018 - Randy Ortiz (Photograph by MJ Suayan)
LIFESTYLE ASIA DECEMBER 2018 – Randy Ortiz (Photograph by MJ Suayan)

DECEMBER (The Celebrations Issue)
Randy Ortiz and His Millennial Muses

Randy Ortiz ended his banner year with a Lifestyle Asia cover featuring his millennial muses wearing his 30th anniversary collection called Homage. After three decades in the industry, Ortiz is still going strong, and remains to be one of the most highly regarded figures in Filipino fashion. For the cover story, he shared anecdotes about his early days selling clothes out of the trunk of his car and how he became “The Designer to the Stars”. The December Issue premiered at Randy’s highly anticipated anniversary show at the Peninsula Manila last November.

RELATED READS: From Car Trunks to Runways: Randy Ortiz Celebrates 30 Years in the Fashion Industry

LIFESTYLE ASIA DIGITAL DECEMBER 2018 - Miko & Nicole de los Reyes (Photograph by Yukie Sarto)
LIFESTYLE ASIA DIGITAL DECEMBER 2018 – Miko & Nicole de los Reyes (Photograph by Yukie Sarto)

DECEMBER (Digital Cover #3)
Miko and Nicole de los Reyes

For the final cover of the year, we made our way to the antique home owned by fashion designer Jojie Loren, where we photographed and interviewed newlyweds Miko and Nicole de los Reyes. Loren designed Nicole’s wedding dress, and his historic atelier seemed like an appropriate venue for our vintage-themed shoot. In a very honest and candid interview, the couple spoke about being married for four months, their experience living together for the first time, and what they have taught each other as husband and wife.

RELATED READS: The Calm After the Storm: Inside the Private Life of Newlyweds Miko and Nicole de los Reyes

To read back issues download the FLIP100 app at your App Store now. To order physical copies of the issues message us on Facebook or Instagram at @lifestyle_asia or @onemeganewsstand.